My first 10K

image

Eeeek. I did it. I signed up for my first race. Well, I actually signed up for it about 2 weeks ago. I was in a short relay last year during my pregnancy. It was so much fun, and I always told myself that I would sign up for a race after my pregnancy.

I have always looked at people that run races or marathons and thought, oh goodness – that could never be me. But, over the years I have changed my perspective on health and fitness. It’s become one of my favourite things. Mostly because, I have two young girls. And, I want to give them all the tools I can give them to make sure they can have a balanced life.

So, after our incredible vacation in Florida. I came back, wanting a purpose. A challenge. I was asked by a friend, to join her on a marathon next year, the distance is too much for me. So, I wanted to start small and try a 10K before the end of the year. I already enjoy working out, but at least now – I have a goal. It is a really awesome feeling, to be steering towards something and challenging your mind and body.

The race is part of the Oslo Marathon, on the 20 September. So, I have some weeks of intensive training ahead of me. Some people don’t look at the 10K as such a big deal, but for me it is. I hope to walk away from it feeling like I could one day do a half-marathon.

I have already started my training, and will be putting up my weekly training schedule, as well as sharing how I plan to fuel my body.

Feeling pumped! xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

